Hands high or low?

Notifications
Clear all

Hands high or low?  

RSS
AmadeoVampire
(@amadeovampire)

I've been learning to ride for over two years now, at the same riding school but with different riding instructors. I've have four different instructors, all good in their own ways, but there is one thing glaring problem - some contradict each other when it comes to how high/low your hands should be. 

My original instructor taught me to hold my hands at a comfortable height above the base of the horses' neck, and that's the way I tend to ride when I'm not being told what to do. 

Instructor 2 tells me 'hands higher', so it feels like I'm pulling the horses' head up sometimes. 

And further still, instructor no.3 (older, has taught for many, many years) tells me "hands low, like you're trying to rub the base of the horses' neck" (without actually touching the horse). 

Then I read a book on training young horses (lent to me by a BHS Accredited Professional friend) that is old (published in 1978) that says "It is sad fact that there are some instructors and riding schools that actually teach the altogether deplorable habit of low-positioned hands" (when writing about how the hands should be held and used). It's an old book, so some of the methods described are likely outdated - but is this true about low hands being, as the author writes, deplorable

I'm inclined to ride with my hands at the height I was originally taught, but it gets really annoying when I have two instructors who are contradicting each other on a very basic aspect (and it feels like I don't learn as much during my lessons when they're constantly saying 'hands higher/lower!'). 

Posted : 14/08/2020 4:16 pm
Topic Tags
ClaireHoward
(@clairehoward)
Seasoned Member

Hello 🖐️