Notifications
Clear all

Self-taught  

RSS
Phantom Glasses
(@phantom-glasses)
Trusted Member

Is anybody else here self-taught?

Due to lack of decent coaches in my locality, I'm thinking of buying my own horse someday (not green) and teaching myself to ride using a cameraman, a fenced arena and knowledge gathered over the internet for three years.

Does anyone else have experience with this? If so,  how did you do it?

PS. For now I'm mostly talking about my seat, not competitive dressage

Posted : 06/05/2020 1:21 am
FirnHydeDressage
(@firnhydedressage)

My first trainer taught me the very basics - like, walk/trot/canter/jump - and after that I was self-taught for a long, long time. I read a lot and I rode multiple horses every single day and had basically no lessons whatsoever for about 10 years. It didn't work out particularly well, but looking back, it didn't work out particularly badly either.

I made my way from square one to Elementary dressage before my lack of a solid foundation let me down and I hit an insurmountable plateau. Position-wise, though, I taught myself and it turned out well enough. But as for the aids, for correct training, for performing any of the movements correctly - being self-taught has let me down horribly. Worst of all, being self-taught absolutely destroyed my riding nerve. I over-faced myself regularly because I didn't know any better, and as a result, I'm utterly crippled by nerves in a way that I really shouldn't be based on my ability. It was a very lonely, very frustrating journey up until my wonderful current coach finally found and took pity on me, and I honestly do not recommend it. I think riding on your own is great and should be done most of the time, but lessons at least once or twice a month are essential to help you grow and learn from someone who has the feel, skill, experience, and technique to really make a difference.